On Sunday last 25th. October when Declan Hannon went up the steps of the of The O’Riain Stand in Semple Stadium Thurles, he was following in the footsteps of some Limerick Greats who Lifted the Dr Croke Cup over the years since Limerick first won Division 1 League Title in 1933/34, the latest win was Limerick’s 13th Division 1 National Hurling League title. Declan was also the fourth Limerick Captain to lift the Trophy on two occasions, in succession to Tim Ryan (1935 & 1936), Mick Mackey (1937 & 1938), Leonard Enright (1984 & 1985), while Mick Kennedy (1934), Jackie Power (1937) Tony O’Brien (1971), Joe O’Connor (1992) and Gary Kirby (1997) captained Limerick on one occasion to lift the Dr. Croke Cup.
The full list of the 13 Division 1 League Titles won by Limerick :
1933/34 FINAL Limerick 3.06 Dublin 3.03 played in Pairc na nGael, Limerick. (Captain Mick.Kennedy)
1934/35 Limerick winners on point system (15 points from 8 games), Kilkenny Runners Up with 14 points (Captain Tim Ryan)
1935/36 Limerick winners on point system (15 points from 8 games), Cork Runners Up with 12 points, (Captain Tim Ryan)
1936/37 Limerick winners on point system (13 points from 8 games) Tipperary Runners Up with 12 points (Captain Mick Mackey)
1937/38 FINAL Limerick 5.02 Tipperary 1.01 (Captain Mick Mackey)
1946/47 FINAL Replay Limerick 3.08 Kilkenny 1.07 The Replay was on 8th.March 1948.
Draw Limerick 4.05 Kilkenny 2.11 The Final was played on 15th. Nov
(Captain Jackie Power)
1970/71 FINAL Limerick 3.12 Tipperary 3.11 played on 23rd May in Cork
(Captain Tony O’Brien)
1983/84 FINAL Limerick 3.16 Wexford 1.09 played on 8th. April in Semple Stadium Thurles
(Captain Leonard Enright)
1984/85 FINAL Limerick 3.12 Clare 1.07 played on 14th. April in Semple Stadium Thurles
(Captain Leonard Enright)
1991/92 FINAL Limerick 0.14 Tipperary 0.13 played on 10th May in Pairc na nGael
(Captain Joe O’Connor)
1997 FINAL Limerick 1.12 Galway 0.09 played on 5th. October in Cusack Park, Ennis
(Captain Gary Kirby)
2019 FINAL Limerick 1.24 Waterford 0.19 played on 31 March in Croke Park
(Captain Hannon)
2020 FINAL Limerick 0.36 Clare 1.23 played on 25th. October in Semple Stadium
(Captain Declan Hannon)