Senior Championship
A second half Jimmy Barry Murphy goal was the crucial score in Saturday’s quarter final victory over Monaleen in Bruff. In a very close contest there was never much between the sides,Ciaran Kelly kicked both of our opening points but we trailed at the water break by four points to two. Monaleen stretched the margin after the break before Eoin O’Mahony kicked a great score to keep us in touch. The last few minutes of the half saw three quick fire scores with Jimmy Barry & a free from Danny Frewen cancel out an effort from Monaleen to leave the score at the break 0-6 to 0-5 in favour of the City side.
On the restart Eoin O’Mahony kicked a long distance free to level up the game but on the sixth minute Monaleen had gone ahead again. Tom O’Dywer & Shane O’Donoghue were introduced into the game but Monaleen were keeping us pinned back in our own half & only for some strong defenceous work from our backs who were putting pressure on their shot tackers resulting in missed opportunities to extend the lead.Then some great work by Eoin Walsh & Mark O’Connell set up Jimmy Barry Murphy who rifled his shot to the roof of the net just before the second water break to leave us two points ahead. The sides traded scores for the remainder of the game with our efforts coming from the booth of Danny Frewen & Brian O’Connell was to kick the insurance one to give us victory on a scoreline of 1-08 to 0-09 to the delight of the spectators who were lucky enough to be there. Well done to all the management & players who now await the draw which will take place after Wednesday night’s two remaining quarter finals to see who we will face in the semi final. Keep an eye on our social media accounts for more information about that fixture.Team & scorers, Declan O’Connor, Pa Holian, Steve Walsh, Donal Kelly, Steve Fox, Shaun Moloney, Killian Meade, Eoin O’Mahony (0-2,1 free), Mark O’Connell, Brian O’Connell (0-1), Ciaran Kelly (0-2,1 free), David McCarthy, Jimmy Barry Murphy (1-1,1 free), Eoin Walsh, Danny Frewen (0-2,1 free). Subs used, Tom O’Dywer, Shane O’Donoghue, Osin Brown, Keairn O’Callaghan.
The lotto draw was held on Saturday evening for a €4,000 jackpot,there was no winner, numbers drawn were 4,7,15 & 22. Lucky dip winners were Catriona Walsh, Darragh Hayes, David & Maureen Dineen, David Noonan & Maureen Brown. Next draw takes place on Saturday October 3rd for a jackpot of €4,200. Thank you for your continued support
Image may contain: one or more people, stadium, grass and outdoor