UNDER 21 HURLERS: Patrickswell made a winning start to the Premier Hurling Championship against Ahane. The opening stages were completely dominated by the ‘Well as we established a 0-6 to 0-0 advantage after fifteen minutes. Darragh Ahern scored three of these points, while Jamie Dillon, Josh Considine and Jason Gillane contributed one point apiece. Ahane managed to stem the tide with their first point, but this was immediately cancelled out by a Patrickswell point. After twenty minutes, there was great uncertainty over whether an Ahane shot had crossed the line. While the players took their positions for a 65′, the referee and umpires agreed that the sliotar was over the line and the green flag was raised. The scoreline was now 0-7 to 1-1 in favour of Patrickswell. The goal did not cause much concern as Jason Gillane fired in a goal, while Darragh Ahern, Adam Carrig and Eoin Carroll added fresh points. Des Foley’s team were in firm control at 1-10 to 1-1, before Ahane notched two points before the interval. The half-time score was 1-10 to 1-3.

Our opponents were revitalised in the second half. Ahane scored three points without reply until Darragh Ahern responded with a point. Once again, Ahane came forward and claimed two consecutive points. The match had become competitive in the final quarter. With fifteen minutes remaining, Patrickswell led by 1-11 to 1-8. Thankfully, Darragh Ahern (0-2) and Jason Gillane created some breathing space when they extended the margin to six points at 1-14 to 1-8. In the final minutes, Ahane scored a second goal to slash the arrears to three points. There was no grandstand finale for Ahane as Patrickswell struck an insurance point to win by 1-15 (18) to 2-8 (14).

The next match is against Na Piarsaigh in Rhebogue on Tuesday February 12 at 7.30pm.

CLUB LOTTO: Lotto results for the week ending Monday February 4 were as follows. The Numbers Drawn were 5, 11, 14 and 17. The Bonus was 26. There was no jackpot winner. The Lucky Dip Winners were The Legends €100, Pat O’Donnell, Bruff €50, Paula O’Connell, Corbally €20, Ruby O’Reilly €20, Chris Fitzgerald €20, Kilcoyne Boys €20 and Jacqueline Gavin €20. The next draw on Monday February 11 will be held in Ballybrown GAA. The jackpot is €9,200!

No photo description available.
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.