JUVENILE CLUB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING: The Juvenile Club Annual General Meeting for 2018 was opened by new Chairman John Murphy. Secretary Peter Maher delivered his annual report to the audience. The year started with a Recruitment Event that was very well attended by young people and strongly supported by the senior players. Peter thanked everyone who assisted in the successful running of the event.

The next portion of the Secretary’s Report was a review of each age group. The U-6s trained on Friday evenings and greatly enjoyed themselves. The U-8s learnt the fundamentals of hurling and attended numerous blitzes and challenge matches. The U-10s were extremely busy with blitzes and attended an intercounty event in May against Portroe, Cashel and Ballybrown. The Parish League acted as the traditional season closer, where the young boys and girls had the chance to showcase their talents. Many thanks to the Fitzgerald family for donating equipment to the club and O’Brien’s Pharmacy for sponsoring the day.

The U-12s played in an eleven-a-side league and also trained with the U-14s. Their most memorable event was a blitz in Croke Park against Cork and Tipperary teams. The boys were given words of encouragement by Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane. The U-14s had a long season that stretched from February to December. They contested Feile and the championship, learning much along the way. The U-16s reached a semi-final and player very well.

Senior Club Chairman John McDermott addressed the meeting. He was delighted that John Murphy had taken the role of Juvenile Club Chairman. A major objective of the club is to identify young players in the locality and get them hurling with the ‘Well.

The following management teams were picked: U-6 Conor Murray and John Murphy, U-8 Dave Hennessy, Mark Griffin and Keith Mullane, U-10 Declan O’Grady, U-12 Mike Foley, Anthony Foley, John Ferguson, Peter Maher and Jim Butler, U-14 Pa Earls, Kevin O’Brien, Dessie Foley and Pakie Lynch, U-16s Ray Fitzgerald, Dave Punch, Dessie Foley, John O’Donnell and Richie Bennis.

CLUB LOTTO: Lotto results for the week ending Monday January 14 were as follows. The Numbers Drawn were 11, 18, 20, 29. The Bonus was 14. There was no jackpot winner. The Lucky Dip Winners were Laura Ryan €100, Ann O’Brien €50, Willy Ryan €20, Christy Kenny €20, Angela Kirby €20, Tina Foley €20 and Rob Graham €20. The next draw of Monday January 21 will be held in Collins’Bar. The jackpot is €8,600!

SCOR NA N-OG: Well done to the Patrickswell Figure Dancers and Ballad Group who represented Limerick in the Scor na n-Og Munster Final.

No photo description available.
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.