CLUB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING: The Club’s Annual General Meeting was held in the clubhouse with a healthy attendance present. Martin Ryan delivered his final Secretary’s Report in his usual comprehensive style. The Senior hurlers were pipped in the County Championship semi-final by Doon, but they did manage to secure the City Championship against Ballybrown. The Junior A hurlers collected three trophies this season, following their successes in the City League, County League and City Championship. Their only defeat of the season was the County Championship semi-final loss to Kileedy.

The U-21 hurlers bowed out in the group stages in the spring. Our Minor hurlers had a fantastic season and battled all the way to the County Final. Unfortunately, Garryspillane produced a strong performance to deny Patrickswell. The Secretary thanked managers and selectors for facilitating the matches throughout the year. He complimented every Patrickswell player that lined out for Limerick, especially the All-Ireland winning trio of Cian Lynch, Diarmaid Byrnes and Aaron Gillane. Gratitude was expressed to main sponsors, Duggan Systems and the Greyhound Night Fundraising Committee led by Michael Walsh.

Martin commended the Camogie Club, Juvenile Club and Patrickswell National School for being so helpful and obliging. He concluded his report by expressing thanks to our Club Lotto organisers – Seamus O’Riordan, Tommy Reidy and Bernard Hayes, our County Board delegate Oliver Mann, our Munster Council delegate Paul Foley and the outgoing Chairman, Kieran Carroll. Condolences were offered to the families of Leonard Enright, Nelius Hayes and everyone who suffered a bereavement in 2018.

Kieran Carroll then delivered his farewell address as Chairman. The opening part of the Chairman’s Address focused on the contribution of Leonard Enright to Patrickswell and Limerick. Leonard was a through-and-through Patrickswell man, who led by example in every aspect of his life. He was a gentleman and always performed his duty – whether it was on the sporting field or in the world of politics. Kieran also lamented the sad passing of our former Treasurer, Nelius Hayes.

The Chairman was delighted that Limerick ended a 45-year wait to win an All-Ireland Championship. He was proud that Patrickswell had three representatives and that Cian Lynch had won an All-Star and Hurler of the Year award. He acknowledged the sterling service of outgoing Secretary Martin Ryan and Treasurer Seamus O’Riordan. In the years gone by, Kieran’s father Jimmy Carroll had been Club Chairman. It was Kieran’s goal to contribute to Patrickswell GAA Club like his father had done. He thanked his predecessor, Paul Foley, for handing over the reins in such good shape. He also acknowledged the support of Willie Leahy as his proposer for the Chairmanship. Sean Lynch and Nigel Carey were also singled out for their contributions as Vice Chairmen during his tenure.

When Kieran accepted the role of Chairman, he had two objectives – to keep our finances in good shape and to preside over success on the playing fields. He recognised the groundwork laid by Ciaran Carey and the subsequent County title delivered by Gary Kirby in 2016. Gary was praised as an outstanding club man who ended a 13-year Daly Cup drought and later claimed a Fitzgibbon Cup for UL. The Minor Team management were commended for their progress in reaching a County Final. The age profile of the team would indicate that there are many great years ahead.

Kieran noted that Patrickswell’s success is built on support and togetherness, irrespective of who holds the key roles. He was delighted that so many villagers worked voluntarily and gave back to the club. He was grateful to the Camogie and Juvenile clubs for their hard work and years of support to him. David Bulfin and Patrickswell National School were also commended for the development of players and promotion of hurling.

From a financial perspective, Kieran thanked the Finance Committee, the Greyhound Night Fundraising Committee and the stalwarts who run the Club Lotto every week. He acknowledged that it was difficult to raise money annually to allow for club development. There was praise for Finbar O’Brien’s hard work on the recent grant application. Patrickswell GAA Club wants to improve its facilities for future generations. He noted the support given by Limerick GAA and Munster GAA to our grant applications to date.

The work of Muirne Bennis, Mike Shinnors and Mary Shinnors in Scor was called out. Duggan Systems were thanked for their long association as club sponsor. In closing, Kieran noted that our current values are handed down from the Founding Fathers of the 1940s. Leadership is a tricky business and he always acted in the best interest of Patrickswell GAA Club. His legacy was to leave things in a better place.

President PJ O’Grady lauded the Chairman’s Address as the best speech he had ever heard at a Patrickswell GAA Club AGM. PJ appreciated the calm and rational manner that Kieran conducted his business. While the ‘Well did not claim a Senior County Championship title this season, other clubs envy us. We now have seven All-Ireland winners and Cian Lynch delivered an All-Star and Hurler of the Year. PJ was humbled by the large attendance at Leonard Enright’s funeral and the respectful marshalling on the day. He also offered his deepest sympathies to the family of Nelius Hayes. He spoke fondly about Muirne’s work with Scor and finally congratulated Martin Ryan and Seamus O’Riordan for their long service to the club.

Oliver Mann was delighted with how Patrickswell GAA Club was being run. He paid tribute to the outgoing Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer. Oliver highlighted that our club is well regarded around the county. He was thrilled by Limerick’s success in the All-Ireland Championship and lauded the book co-authored by Ciaran Crowe and Joe Lyons – “At Last”. In closing, Oliver praised the work of the National School and the Juvenile & Camogie clubs.

Monsignor Lane focused on the hard work of the Chairman, Officers and Committee. He was amazed at the time and effort invested in the running of our club. In the 21st century, it is incredible to witness the spirit of volunteerism. Monsignor saw the GAA Club as the vibrant heart of the community. It fostered a sense of belonging. Monsignor expressed his delight that Limerick won the Liam MacCarthy Cup and that Patrickswell produced three of its stars. In closing, he offered his condolences to the Enright family.

The following officers were elected for 2019: Chairman John McDermott, Secretary Aedin Foley, Treasurer Michael McDermott, Vice-Chairman Seamus O’Riordan, Assistant Secretaries Jim O’Herlihy and Bernard Hayes, PRO James McCarthy, Registrar Paddy Carrig, Culture & Language Officer Muirne Bennis and Health & Wellbeing Officer PJ O’Grady.

CLUB LOTTO: Lotto results for the week ending Thursday December 27 were as follows. The Numbers Drawn were 5, 13, 17, 23. The Bonus was 20. There was no jackpot winner. The Lucky Dip Winners were Shane O’Neill €100, Mary King €50, Tom Dundon €20, Fergus Curran €20, Louise Foley €20, Alan Byrnes €20 and Damien Griffin €20. The next draw of Wednesday January 2 will be held in Ballybrown GAA Clubhouse. The jackpot is €8,000!

No automatic alt text available.
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.