Our junior hurlers faced Murroe Boher in the East Junior hurling league final on Thursday evening in trying conditions for both sides. We started on the front foot and created a good goal scoring chance inside the first minute but good defending by Murroe Boher saw the sliothar deflected for a 65. We wasted a couple of scoring chances before David O Neill scored our first point of the game. We were slow to settle and by the 10th minute Murroe Boher had raced into a 1-02 to 0-01 lead. This lead increased to 1-04 to 0-01 but a well worked move finished by the experienced Shane O Neill saw the score at the first water break of 1-04 to 1-01. We steadied the ship and points by David O Neill 0-3, Ronan Butler, Mike Moynihan, Padraig Ryan and Darragh Godfrey saw us lead at the break on a score line of 1-08 to 1-07.
We scored two points at the start of the second half to increase our lead and both sides traded points until the second water break where we lead by four points 1-14 to 1-10. Again, we increased our lead to six points by the 24th minute of the second half. Murroe Boher were awarded a 21metre free which they duly dispatched to the net and there was only a goal between the sides. As we entered the last five minutes, we witnessed the turning point of the game when a Murroe Boher forward won possession of the ball and as he bared down on goal somehow Micháel Meaney flicked the ball off his hurl and fed Darragh Godfrey in the middle of the park and Darragh scored a superb point to put us two scores ahead as we entered the final few minutes. Both sides again traded points but after eight minutes of added time we came out on top of a titanic battle on a score line of 1-22 to 2-14. Have a look on our website to see the team photo and Captain Enda Meaney receiving the cup.
Panel Paul Butler, Kieran O Brien, Stephen Noonan, Micháel Meaney, Derek Lynch, Enda Meaney, Cathal O Neill, Mike Keane (0-3), Shane O Neill (1-1), Mike Moynihan (0-2), David O Neill (0-10), Padraig Ryan (0-1), Darragh Godfrey (0-3), Ronan Butler (0-2), Stephen Kilcoyne, Sean Ryan, William Hickey, Brendan McSweeney, Patrick O Donnell, James Moynihan, Frank Lang, Stephen Willis, Alex Keyes, Gabriel Burke O Dwyer, Ben Garry, Tony Carroll, Sean Keane, Shane Kilcoyne.
Limerick GAA in association with Lyons of Limerick Ford Store have teamed up to give one lucky supporter the chance to follow their county team in style.
An all-new 212 Ford Kuga Titanium Hybrid Automatic, is up for grabs for the winner of an exciting raffle with tickets on sale this morning.
All proceeds from the “Win A Kuga” draw with Limerick GAA will be reinvested in county hurling and football teams representing Limerick from minor right through to Senior grades.
Tickets are being sold online at at €20 each and the single lucky winner will be announced on 25th September where they will be presented with the keys to a brand-new Ford Kuga Titanium.
Club Limerick Draw
The next Club Limerick Draw takes place on Saturday July 31st with another jackpot prize of €10,000, an Exclusive Star Prize and a host of cash prizes up for grabs. This will be the fifth of ten monthly draws which will run until December.
The Club Limerick Draw is one of our main fundraisers with 50% of the entrant fee returned to our local club. We strongly urge all club members to support this vital fundraiser and hopefully claim some of the wonderful prizes on offer. The cost of entry is €10 per draw. You can still sign up online via the new Club Limerick website @, remembering to select South Liberties GAA as the nominated club during the process.
Munster Minor Football Championship Quarter Final
Congratulations to the Limerick Lads who will now play Clare in the Provincial Semi Final on Friday 30th. July in Cusack Park, Ennis.
CONGRATULATIONS!! ! To Tomas Lynch, Adam English and Shane O’Brien who have been selected on the 2020 Electric Ireland Minor Hurling TEAM of the YEAR
Our new training tops, that our senior men received lately are now available to purchase online from O Neill’s. If interested, please log onto the following:…/Ireland/south-liberties-gaa.html or click on the BLUE SHOP NOW button on our Facebook page.
Sincere condolences to the Carmody family on the recent death of Rita from Lickadoon. Rita was a great supporter of South Liberties. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam.