SENIOR HURLERS: The Daly Cup returned to Patrickswell for a record 20th time as the ‘Well produced a textbook performance to topple Na Piarsaigh. Cian Lynch set the tone with a superb solo point after two minutes. While the Caherdavin men promptly equalised, Aaron Gillane popped up with two frees to match Na Piarsaigh’s offering. After ten minutes, the scores were level at 0-3 apiece. Patrickswell nudged ahead when Thomas O’Brien and Josh Considine struck points. The key moment of the match was a devastating finish from young Considine, who sent a fierce shot into the net. Na Piarsaigh did respond with two fresh points, but they trailed by 1-5 to 0-5 after 18 minutes. The remainder of the first half was dominated by the ‘Well as four straight points built a seven-point margin (Jack Kelleher 0-2, Aaron Gillane and Andrew Carroll). Na Piarsaigh took the final score of the opening half. The half-time score was 1-9 to 0-6 for Ciaran Carey’s men.

The second half began with a Na Piarsaigh fightback that was combined with a scoring drought from Patrickswell. By the 50th minute, Na Piarsaigh had drawn level with six unanswered points. The fans were on the edge of their seats for the last ten minutes. Na Piarsaigh were in full flight and the ‘Well were on the back foot. The scoreboard read 1-9 to 0-12. Thankfully Diarmaid Byrnes ended the slump with a point and Aaron Gillane added another. Na Piarsaigh pulled a point back, but Josh Considine, Aaron Gillane and Cian Lynch opened a four-point lead by the 56th minute. Patrickswell were now in the ascendancy. Na Piarsaigh trimmed the margin to three points; however Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane increased the buffer to five points. The victory was almost in sight. While Na Piarsaigh struck another point, Diarmaid Byrnes closed out the match at 1-17 to 0-15. There were tears and jubilation as Cian Lynch held the trophy aloft. Well done to the players and management. Onwards to the Munster Championship!

CLUB LOTTO: Lotto results for the week ending Monday September 30 were as follows. The numbers drawn were 3, 7, 12 and 27. The Bonus was 13. The Lucky Dips were €100 for Dylan Kelly, €50 for Mary Aldridge and €20 each for Kathleen & Eamonn, Liam & Marie O’Carroll, Ellen Kirwan, Evan Loftus and Margo Foster. The next draw on Tuesday October 8 will be held in De Bucket. The jackpot is €3,600.