Oola GAA Club Notes:

U21 County A Champions:
Oola contested the County U21 A Football Final on 27th December on a cold wet windy day in Adare. Little did anybody think 2 hours of football would be played to decide the winner.
The first score of the game came from Ballylanders after Oola had hit 3 wides, however the teams went in level at half time 0-5 apiece. The points coming from Tom Ryan, Eddie Stokes Chris Thomas and Kevin Maher.
Ballylanders struck the first score in the second half before Tom Ryan provided an immediate response for the Oola men. Ballylanders scored 2 more point before Eddie Stokes found the bottom corner of the net. Ballylanders responded with 3 further points to put them back in the lead however Eddie Stokes stepped up and tied the game at the death, the full-time score was Oola 1-08 Ballylanders 0-11.
In the first half of extra time Oola had a 2-point advantage 1-11 to 0-12. Ballylanders had most of the possession in the 2nd half of extra time scoring 2 points which guaranteed penalties after extra-time, with the scoreline reading, Oola 1-11 Ballylanders 0-14.
Ballylanders took an early advantage in the shootout. However, Oola scored their remaining 3 penalties, Shane O’Grady steeping up to take the last penalty for Oola. Oola emerged victorious from the shootout 3-2. The final score Oola 4-11 Ballylanders 2-14.
Jubilant scenes in Adare as Oola captain Cian O’Donovan accepted the cup from County Football Chair Wayne Fitzgerald. Congratulation to our U21 team and management on a fantastic win.
Team: Cian McGrath, Paddy Downey, Sean Moloney, Sean Ryan, Dylan McGrath (1pen), Cian O’Donovan (Capt), Chris Thomas (0-1), Kevin Maher (0-1), Aidan Moloney, Conor Whelan, Tom Ryan (1-6 (pen)), Colin O’Grady, Gareth Thomas, Eddie Stokes (1-2), Shane O’Grady (1-1 (pen)).
Subs: Sean McDonald, John Stokes, Harry Maher, Sean Conway, Jack McPartland, Jack O’Dwyer, Callum Wallace, Darragh O’Brien, Liam Downey, Tomas Lynch, Sean Maher.

Spilt the Pot:
Our first Split the Pot winner of 2024 was Ann Costello who collected €470. The ticket was sold by Annemarie O’Brien. Envelope entries can be purchased at O’Donovan’s Applegreen Oola, Nearby Oola Garys, Neily’s Bar Oola, Hogans Bar, Lowrys Bar, Bleisce Barber’s, Tipperary Town Plaza and at Oola Post Office. Thank you to everybody for your continuous support for the draw.

No winner of Lotto Jackpot. Numbers drawn on 1st January were 1, 14, 22, 27. The draw can be viewed on Facebook live every Monday night from 9:30pm.

Happy New Year:
Oola GAA would like to wish everyone, our players, mentors and supporters a happy new year both on and off the field. We look forward to getting back into action in 2024.