Limerick U20 footballers open Munster championship campaign against Tipperary:

By Siadbh Redmond Limerick Leader Sport

THE LIMERICK U20 football team will get their Munster Championship campaign underway tonight, Friday, March 15, away to Tipperary in Fethard at 7pm.

Limerick reached the Munster semi-final in 2023. A number of managers in Shane Kelly’s squad featured for the Limerick minor side which reached the Munster final in 2021.

Kelly named a strong 34 man squad for the competition at the end of January, including two players currently playing with Jimmy Lee’s senior squad, Emmet Rigter and Aaron Neville.

Limerick face back-to-back fixtures with a home game against Waterford on March, 23 before facing Clare on March 30, with both games fixed for Mick Neville Park in Rathkeale.

Limerick U20 Football Squad: Michael Keating (Adare), Craig O’Connell (Ahane), Bobby Smith (Ballybrown, Jamie Behan (Ballybrown), Jamie Dolan (Ballysteen),Padrhaic Murphy (Ballysteen), Sam Colgan (Ballysteen), Robert Galligan (Claughaun). Michael Fahy (Drom-Broadford), Diarmuid Ryan (Feenagh-Kilmeedy), Culann Quigley (Fr Casey’s), Dylan O’Connor (Fr Casey’s), Marc Nolan (Fr Casey’s), Michael Kilbridge (Fr Casey’s), Oisin Woulfe (Fr Casey’s), Ronan Quirke (Fr Casey’s), Conor McMahon (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Conall Ó’Duinn (Monaleen), Darragh Clifford (Monaleen), Darragh Murray (Monaleen), Diarmuid Hynes (Mungret St Paul’s), Jack Sommers (Mungret St Paul’s), Jason Hassett (Mungret St Paul’s), Aaron Neville (Newcastle West), Emmet Rigter (Newcastle West), John Whelan (Newcastle West), Patrick Noonan Sweeney (Newcastle West), Paddy Downey (Oola), Tom Ryan (Oola), Craig McInnes (St Kieran’s), Michael Long (St Kieran’s), Josh McCarthy (St Patrick’s), Shane Cross (St Patrick’s), Senan O’Brien (St Senan’s).