Senior Football

Our Senior Footballers dusted off the cobwebs when they resumed competitive action when we travelled to the Bog Garden on Monday night to take Rathkeale in the All County League.

Despite missing a number of starters from our last Championship match, we still fielded a strong side with Pakie Moran returning to the side following injury. Both sides served up an entertaining and physical game of football over the hour. We lead at half time 1-04 to 0-05 with Shane Gallagher scoring our goal following a swift move. At half time two changes were made with David Hanley replacing Callum Daly and Cian O’Connell also returned following a spell on the sidelines replacing Mark Ranahan. We defended strongly in the second half facing into a strong wind and challenge from Rathkeale to come away with the two points on a full time score 1-08 to 0-09.

Our Senior Footballers are back in All County Football action this Friday (May 31st) when we welcome Drom/Broadford to Ballysteen. Throw in is at 7.30pm.

Team: Conor Ranahan; Callum Daly, Kevin McMahon, Bill Casey; Luke Gammell, Pa Ranahan, John O’Shaughnessy; Pakie Moran, Séan Whelan; Darragh Ranahan, Shane Hallinan, Mark Ranahan; Maurice Somers, Shane Gallagher, Danny Neville.

David Hanley, Cian O’Connell, David Holland, Roger Somers, Rob Whelan, Alan McGrath, Jack Neville.

Fixture: Friday May 31st ACFL vs Drom/Broadford              Throw In: 7.30pm             Venue: Ballysteen

Junior B

Our Junior B footballers played in the West Junior B Football League semi final last Friday night in Rathkeale. Unfortunately, we came up against a very strong Granagh/Ballingarry side who dominated the first half scoring two goals to lead 2-06 to 0-01 at half time.

Despite the big gap in the score line, the team never gave up and fought valiantly until the end, succumbing to defeat on a full-time score of 2-09 to 0-07.

Preparations now begin for the Junior Championship which will begin in the coming weeks.

Team: Joe Guerin; Callum Daly, Paul Doyle, Caolan Rushe; John Blackwell, Roger Somers, Alan McGrath; Paidi Vaughan, Cian O’Connell; Declan Ryan, David Holland, Declan Guerin; Pakie Neville ©, Mike Neville, Jeff Duggan.

David Hanley, David O’Donoghue, Alan O’Shaughnessy, Eoin Condon, Jamie Moran, Derven Gallagher, Glenn O’Donnell, Maurice Hayes.


We extend our sympathies to Saint Patrick’s GAA club following the passing of chairman Paddy Quilligan. Thoughts and prayers are with his family and the club. May he Rest in Peace.

Limerick U20 Football

Well done to clubmen Cillian Ferris and Jason Daly for being included on the Limerick U20 Football panel for the forthcoming championship season. It’s great to see their dedication, skill and form being rewarded. Limerick begin their campaign in early July against Tipperary.

Munster Senior Hurling and Football Championships

It’s a big weekend in both Munster Hurling and Football Championships for Limerick. On Saturday night, the Senior Footballers travel to Cork with a place in the Munster Final at stake. Throw in at Páirc Uí Rinn is at 7pm. We wish everyone involved the very best of luck. Hopefully we will be celebrating Limerick reaching a Munster Final for the first time since 2010.

On Sunday, the Senior Hurlers travel to Waterford for their second game of the Championship. We wish William O’Meara and everyone involved the very best of luck. Throw in is at 2pm and is live on RTE Sport.

Tickets for Saturday’s can be purchased at local Supervalu and Centra outlets. As well as online at At time of submission, tickets for Sunday’s game have not gone on public sale.

Club Limerick Draw

The second Club Limerick draw took place this past weekend and unfortunately, we had no luck this time around.

Ballysteen GAA Club is now promoting the Club Limerick Draw for 2019. Cost €100 for 10 monthly draws first draw April 6th. By joining the draw, you have a chance to win 31 prizes monthly ranging from €12000 to €100. Your membership of Ballysteen GAA Club entitles you to be included in a draw for tickets for matches where demand exceeds supply i.e. Munster & All Ireland Finals etc. Your subscription of which Ballysteen GAA receives €50 will be used to run the club and facilitate the training of our teams.

Contact Alan Kehoe (0871237562) or John Anglim (0862362642) for more information.

Club Membership

For anyone who doesn’t want to join the Club Limerick Draw cost of Club Membership for 2019 will be €50 (Adult) & €25 (Minor). This will cover training and insurance costs for players and give priority for All Ireland tickets when necessary. Members can also join together to take part in the Limerick Club draw by combining their €50 membership and be in with chance of winning cash prizes every month. For more information contact Alan Kehoe (0871237562) or John Anglim (0862362642).

Parish GAA Book

The Club will be releasing a book on the history of the GAA in the Askeaton-Ballysteen parish. If anyone has old photographs or stories regarding GAA in the parish, contact Paul Anglim.

Club Shop

New items have been added to the club shop and can be purchased from the O’Neills online store at the following address

Facebook and Twitter

You can stay up to date with Ballysteen GAA by adding us on Facebook or following on Twitter @BallysteenGAA