Patrickswell G.A.A. Club Notes:

Victory Dance:

The club held its much-anticipated Victory Dance at the Woodlands Hotel on Saturday February 4th. The large attendance was a tribute to the popularity and importance of Patrickswell GAA in its community. The event recognised the groundbreaking achievements of the 1965 & 1966 County champions, the record-equalling 2016 County champions and the superb minor camogie title winners of 2015.
The evening was expertly compered by Club President PJ O’Grady and we were honoured to welcome Patrick O’Donovan as Minister for Sport, Deputy Niall Collins TD and Oliver Mann as County Board Chairman.
It was a very nostalgic and emotional evening as the Men of 1965/1966 were awarded medals to acknowledge their legacy. Sadly, many of the players have now passed away. However, their family members were invited to receive medals and stand in their place. The 2016 senior hurling team and 2015 minor camogie team were thrilled to get recognition for their important victories and their new place in club history.
We also awarded distinguished service plaques to Patrick Kirby, Phil Bennis, Bernard Hayes and Mossie Carmody to commemorate their tireless years of service to the club. A special gratitude award was given to Duggan Systems Limited, our longstanding and generous sponsor. In conclusion, John McDermott was awarded Club Person of the Year 2016 (picture attached) in recognition of his trojan work with the Finance Committee and organising the acquisition of land for expansion.
Patrickswell GAA club would like to thank all its members and supporters for backing this gala evening. It was a superb event and testament to the spirit of our village.