Pallasgreen G.A.A.

Intermediate Hurling:
Saturday afternoon saw the culmination of all the efforts of the Pallasgreen team as they faced Monaleen in the final of the Limerick Intermediate Hurling championship. After ten months of work, through training and games, this one game, played in Bruff on a blustery winter’s day would provide the definition for their season. A strong early start saw Pallasgreen race into an early four points to one lead and looking in control of the game. However Monaleen upped the pace and came back into the match during the second period of the first half, with Pallasgreen seemingly dropping the pace themselves, to take the half time lead by five points to four. The start of the second half saw Aidan Shanahan being pushed back up to half-forward, as the extra defensive man Monaleen had in the first half was key to their performance. This tightening up of positions drew almost immediate returns as Pallasgreen began winning more ball off the puck outs and were able to force a free which Colin Ryan put over to bring the game level. Shortly after Colin Ryan struck a 65 over to take Pallasgreen back into the lead. Midway through the second half saw the decisive moment of the game, when goalkeeper Ciaran Ryan saved a well struck shot from ten yards out to deny a goal for Monaleen. While the resulting goal chance for Pallasgreen directly after that save was also not taken, Monaleen seemed somewhat deflated by not having taking such a clear chance and Pallasgreen were increasingly on top, outscoring their opponents by four points to two in the final quarter of the game to win by a scoreline of 0-11 to 0-8 and be crowned county intermediate champions for 2014. Scorers: Colin Ryan 0-5 (4 frees, 1 “65”); Kevin Barry 0-2; Jonathan Deere, Tony McMahon, Chris McMahon and Aidan Shanahan 0-1 each.
Club Lotto:
Club Lotto November 10– No winner. Numbers drawn: 7-9-12-21. Next week’s jackpot €5,300. Tickets cost €2 each and are available from local business. Please support your club. Lucky Dip Winner €25 each: 1. James Buckley, 2. Breda O’Connell, 3. Ann Cosgrave, 4. Chloe Fraher and 5. Liam Ryan, Barna.
Pallasgreen Bingo:
Pallasgreen GAA Bingo is held every Wednesday in Pallasgreen Community Centre at 8.30pm. Please support by coming along and taking part.