Limerick Ladies Football Notes:

Limerick Set up League Final Spot, when overcoming Louth: Limerick 2-14 Louth 3-7:
Limerick travelled to the Crettyyard in Laois last Sunday to take on Louth in the TESCO Homegrown National League Semi Final. This was an evenly contested semi-final, with both sides serving up a thrilling game. Playing against the wind Louth girls got into an early stride with a quick break out of defence to score a cracking goal. This really set up a tough battle with points being exchanged inside the first ten minutes. As the first half went on both teams were matching each other all over the pitch. A cracking goal from Dymphna O’Brien helped the Limerick girls to settle. Points from Megan Kelleher and O’Brien again helped them to get their heads in front. Further points from Stephanie Carroll, Megan Kelleher and a Niamh Richardson Goal had Limerick ahead at half time by four points. The second half saw a resolute Limerick gain an early advantage with two super pointed frees from Dymphna O’Brien. At this stage the defence upped their game and when impressive substitute Shauna Ryan kicked a great point with a further couple from Bridgid Cahill it had a comfortable look about it for the Treaty girls. However, Louth had different ideas and took over for the final ten minutes putting in a storming finish with a goal and 2 points. This was a never say die display from Louth. When the final whistle came, it was the gritty performance from Limerick that helped them book their place in the league final when they take on Offaly on the 2 May, Venue and Time TBC. This was a game full of honesty and congratulations to both teams for serving up an excellent match. Limerick panel in full: Yvette Culhane (Mungret/St Pauls), Martina Giltenane ( Mungret/St Pauls), Alva Neary (Old Mill), Kristine Reidy (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Loretta Hanley (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Sandra O’Connor (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Claire Coughlan (Mungret/St Pauls), Caroline Hickey (St Ailbes), Janet Garvey (Captain) (Fr. Caseys/Monagea), Olivia Giltenane (Mungret/St Pauls), Megan Kelleher (Knockainey), Mai Kennelly (Old Mill), Niamh Richardson (Murroe/Boher), Lisa Harnett (Fr. Caseys/Monagae), Chloe O’Connell (Oola), Siobhan Moloney (Oola), Bridget Cahill (Monagea), Dymphna O’Brien (Gerald Griffins), Sarah O’Sullivan (St Brigids), Katie Fitzgerald (Gerald Griffins), Aoife Meaney (Murroe/Boher), Stephanie Carroll (St Ailbes), Clodagh Kirby (Knockainey), Marie Curtin (Mungret/St Pauls), Orla O’Donoghue (St Brigids), Janet O’Carroll (Mungret/St Pauls), Emma Maguire (St Ailbes), Shauna Ryan (Murroe/Boher), Grainne Regan (Murroe/Boher), Megan O’Meara (Murroe/Boher), Aisling Regan (Murroe/Boher) and Maeve Higgins (St Patrick’s). Manager: Eddie Murphy. Coaches: Conor Buckley, JP Aherne, Donal Ryan. Team Liaison Officer: Mary Manning. Team Medic: John Holland.
Mungret/St Paul’s are Limerick Feile Champions:
Mungret/St Paul’s and St Ailbes contested the Under 14 Feile Final, last Saturday in Mick Neville Park. Mungret had overcome Galtee Gales and St Ailbes accounting for last years champions Old Mill in both semi final’s. Mungret again got off to the better start and lead at half time 2-2 to 0-0. St. Ailbes came back out in the second half and mounted a comeback by scoring the first goal of the second half. Mungret responded straight away with a goal of their own within a few minutes to keep the scores ticking over. St. Ailbes added another 1-2 but Mungret scored another 2-1. Final Score: Mungret 5-3 St Ailbes 2-2. Scores for Mungret: Emer O’Keeffe 4-2, Emma Kate Quinn 1-0 and Claire Goggin 0-1. Liz Carmody presented the Eileen Carmody Memorial Cup to the winning Mungret Captain Claire Goggin. Mungret will now represent Limerick in the national finals in Leinster on the weekend of the 26 June. Mungret/St Paul’s panel: Niamh Browne, Helena Dee, Hazel Dineen, Aoife O’Connor, Claire Goggin, Kerri Guina, Zoe Mangan, Ciara O’Connell, Aoife Morrissey, Ailbhe Larkin, Emer O’Keeffe, Jade Gillane, Alannah McDonagh, Emma Kate Quinn, Megan Cronin, Katelyn Costello, Rebecca Landers, Fiona O’Brien, Sophie O’Brien, Amy O’Byrne, Fiona Meehan, Jenny Lynch, Clare Murphy, Tara Nealon, Lauren Esson, Sarah Jane Mulqueen, Niamh Herbert and Kate Cusack. Team Managers: Niamh Kitching, Matt Fennell, Aine O’Brien, Fiona Mangan and Mick Timmons.
St Ailbes Panel: Emma Ryan, Sarah Benson, Sophie Butler, Leah Donnelly, Aoife Rowsome, Orla Zundell, Aine Butler, Robyn Leahy, Laura Nash, Meadhbh McNamara, Georgia Keane, Sinead McElligott, Emma Wade, Ciara McDermott (Captain), Aisling Murnane, Emily Ryan, Molly Fitzpatrick, Ciara Martin, Aine Nicholl, Sarah Connaughton, Sarah Clifford, Holly Doran, Ailish O’Neill, Sarah Kate Walker, Sarah O’Connor, Shauna Halvey, Bronagh Dollard, Orla Costello and Amy Evans. Team Management: Seamus McElligott, Paul Butler and Aoife Ryan. First Aid: Ann Rowsome.
Limerick Club Matches this Weekend:
Under 12 League Matches: Round 4 – Friday, 24 April
Adult League Matches: Round 4 – Saturday, 25 April
Under 14: Championship: Round 5 – Wednesday, 29 April
Under 16 League: Round 6 – Monday, 27 April.