South Awards

On Friday Evening last South Limerick GAA held the 2017 Awards in Bulgaden Castle.

Mike Keane Chairman of the Board welcomed all to the evening and congratulated all those that were receiving awards. He handed over to Matt O’Callaghan who was MC for the evening.

Matt commenced by remembering 2 members of the Board who passed to their eternal reward, Harry Greensmyth passed away earlier in the week, he was synonymous with the GAA, County, Divisional and Club and at the time of his passing was President of the Board. Harry had been honored at these awards in 2016. Harry was a Player, Coach and prolific writer of match reports and an author of Club Histories.

Sympathies were extended to his wife Christina and his Family

Bill Fox was also remembered. Bill passed away in 2017.

Matt asked all to stand and mark their passing with sustained applause.

The main sponsors of the evening were Beechinors Group and Creamery Farm Services and were thanked for their support and also Danny Beary from East Limerick who provided archived information for the evening.

The following received Hurling Awards – Senior – Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), Intermediate – Kieran O’Rourke (Bruree) , Junior A – Kevin O’Mahony (Kilmallock), Junior B – Paddy O’Leary (Bruff), U21- Kyle Dillon (Bruff), Minor – Adam Treacy (Staker Wallace / Ballyhoura Gaels). Eoin Sheehan received a special recognition award for his part in the Premier Minor Hurling Championship which Garryspillane won in 2017.

The following received Football Awards – Intermediate – Eoin Halligan (Galbally), Junior A – Mike Jones (Galtee Gaels), Junior B – Chris McElligot (Castletown Ballyagran), U21 – Tom Childs (Galtee Gaels) Minor Danny McGrath (Ballylanders / Galtee Gaels)

Dual Player award was presented to Stephen Walsh (Glenroe and Ballylanders), Ladies Football Award – Andrea O’Sullivan (Ballylanders), Camogie Award – Anna Rose Kennedy (Galbally), Handball Award JP O’Connor (Hospital Herbertstown), Referee Award – Johnny Murphy (Ballylanders).

Club of the Year 2017 was Galtee Gaels and the award was accepted by Mike Kelly Club Chairman.

A Service Award was presented to Mike Meade (Banogue & Dromin Athlacca)

Hall of Fame Awards were presented to the 1984 and 1987 South Players and Selectors who won All Ireland Minor and U21 Titles with Limerick. Anthony O’Riordan (Bruff), Anthony Madden (Bruff), Mike Reale (Bruff), Pat Madden (Bruff), Eoin Stapleton (Garryspillane), Brian Stapleton (Garryspillane), John O’Neill (Blackrock), Haulie O’Brien (Glenroe) & John Bresinhan (Castletown Ballyagran). The Selectors were Tom Bulfin , Michael Weeks and Phil Bennis (Ciaran Carey accepted the award on his behalf)

Matt O’Callaghan received the Media Award for 2017 for his wonderful coverage of our games.

The Raffle was held and the prizewinners were Kyle Dillon (Door Prize), Seamus Twomey, Pat English, Frances O’Dwyer, Andre O’Sullivan, Eoin Halligan, Vivian Lynch, Fiona Walsh, Anna Rose Kennedy 7 Kevin O’Mahony.

Thanks to all the sponsors Creamery Farm Services, Beechinor Group, Bank of Ireland, Power Solicitors, Cavanaghs of Charleville, TwinCo, Neillys Bar Oola, Jim Dooley, Dan Dooley, Dairygold Co-op, Old Ground Hotel, Cahills Hardware, Supervalu Kilmallock, IC Motor Factors, SWS Engineering, O’Sullivans Butchers, Fitzgerald Electrical, Keating Pharmacy & John Grifin


U21 B South Championship

Semi Final

Hospital Herbertstown V Dromin Athlacca at 12 on 17th March in Kilbreedy

U21 B South Championship


Winners V Cois Laoi Gaels at 12on 19th March in Kilmallock

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.